RSS

Part Four: Project Eight – Stage Two. Exercise Four.

11 Mar

Following the instruction  “start with rigid materials” to the letter,I went looking for a recycled  wire bird-cage, thinking that it had a variation of rigid wire sides which I could adapt to using for ‘trellis type weaving’. I ended up with various other wire framed trellis’ which I used for filling in the spaces to create solid and open areas – photos of  samples herewith.

All samples have been worked randomly with no specific design in mind – as the imagination took me so the weaving took shape. The preset pattern of the wires did dictate to an extent the outcome of the weaving of the fibres. Colours were important in that they gave the image vibrant appeal. Not just yarns but more outlandish material was used such as faux fur with a strong cord running through its fibres. This meant that it was able to be threaded through the wires and also secured by hand stitching.

The background in two of the samples was knitted patterns of Peggy squares. I have the sense that my samples are not in keeping with those in the manual on page 168 (my numbering) and that I would like to try less rigid forms of the template and perhaps ‘pig intestines’ which if placed in a set format will stay fixed when the animal intestines dry. I am thinking that I want to try some other forms of structures to broaden my experience of this exercise.

 
Comments Off on Part Four: Project Eight – Stage Two. Exercise Four.

Posted by on March 11, 2012 in Part Four: Project Eight - Stage Two. Exercise 4.

 

Comments are closed.