RSS

Sketchbook

15 Mar

This time I will try another sample of colour analysis from a photograph.

The season being autumn I have chosen some lesser than warm colours in various shades and tones of green. These green colours are both ends of the spectrum that is blue/green and yellow/green.The photo has a matt finish to it so that the greens are more muted and dull looking than than they appear in natural day light. Not only have I used water coloured paints but also snippets of images from coloured magazines and yarn wound onto cardboard in approximately the same proportions as in the photo to show the relationship between the photo and the materials.

Water colours have a serenity about them when being applied which helps me to develop a fairly standard format as suggested in the lessons but I want to vary my way of analysing colour perhaps by trying a drawing/sketch and using a variety of materials and fibres.

Still with the autumn shades but introducing some warmer colours such as red and yellow. By taking a series of flower shapes and sketching them in pencil I added the full strength colours from water coloured paints. The slender and spindly lines suggests I use a lower denier of thread and I have chosen DMC thread shades which match the colours in the drawing. The warm reds and yellows contrast strongly with the cool greens and all their different tones. The duller greens stand out in intensity because of their clean cut lines, especially their outlines and hash texture markings. The greens appear darker because of the value of the yellow and reds surrounding them.

I tend to work intuitively rather than by analysis of the concepts of colour and techniques other than collage. It still is and will for some time yet be a voyage of discovery for me as a student. I hope that I never stop learning something new.

 
Comments Off on Sketchbook

Posted by on March 15, 2012 in Sketchbook

 

Comments are closed.